Vishnu Persaud is the new Chief Elections Officer

The Guyana Elections Commission using a casting vote from its Chairman elected its former Acting Deputy Chief Elections Officer and Public Relations Officer Vishnu Persaud as the next Chief Election Officer.

The decision was made at Friday’s meeting in which Persaud and Jamaican national Leslie Harrow were the two candidates shortlisted for the CEO post.

Speaking to this publication, a source confirmed that Persaud’s appointment was supported by the government appointed commissioners and it was Justice Claudette Singh, GECOM’s chairman who voted with the commissioners to make the appointment final.

The posts of CEO and DCEO became vacant as GECOM opted not to renew the contracts of Keith Lowenfield and Roxanne Myers. Both are before the courts along with several GECOM staffers and members of APNU charged with varying offences in relation to the 2020 General and Regional Elections.