National Sports Commission appointed

Five of Six members of the NSC, Kashif Mohamed(T-L), Phillip Fernandes (T-M), Bissondyal Singh (T-R), Cristy Campbell (B-L), Dellon Davidson (B-R).

The long awaited National Sports Commission has been officially appointed. After much speculation, the Chairman has been named as football promoter Kashif Mohamed. Published in the Official Gazette, a notice named other members of the Commission as Guyana Cricket Board President Bisoondyal Singh, President of the Tennis Association Cristy Campbell, Dellon Davidson, Head of the Guyana Hockey Board Phillip Fernandes and Chetram Ramdial. 

The National Sports Commission is responsible for the promotion of sports, the provision of funding for sports, erecting and maintaining sporting and other recreational facilities among other things.

The Commission is also expected to advise the Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport on the appointment of a Director of Sport.