Long overdue Law Reform Commission named

Retired Justice of Appeal B. S. Roy has been appointed Chairman of the Law Reform Commission. Other members Mr. Teni Housty, Ms. Clarissa Riehl, Mr. Brian O’ Toole, Ms. Emily Dodson, Mr. Roopnarine Satram  and Ms. Deenawatie Panday, the Ministry of Legal Affairs said in a release on Saturday.

“The Law Reform Commission is an advisory body to the State and can recommend to the Government of Guyana amendments to existing laws, new legislation, and the repeal of existing legislation.”

The establishment of a Law Reform Commission is part of a fundamental component of the US$ 8 million dollar Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) funded Support for the Justice System Programme, the release stated.

The IDB will be funding the functioning of the Law Reform Commission for a specified period and the Government of Guyana is expected to take over funding thereafter.

“Law Reform ensures that the country’s laws are updated at periodic intervals, and captures and embraces the aspirations, exigencies, social maladies and vicissitudes of the society as it evolves.”

The long over due Law Reform Commission will be operating out of a Government of Guyana building located at Lot 91 Middle Street, Georgetown. A Secretariat for the Commission has already been established and staffed. Members of the Commission are expected to be sworn in shortly, the Ministry said.