Flood assessment commences

A team of local, regional and international stakeholders on Wednesday commenced a detailed assessment of damages caused by flooding in several regions across Guyana.

The “Detailed Damage Sector Assessment” (DDSA) which comprises of representatives from almost 20 organisations and several Government agencies, resulted from an agreement between the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA) and the Civil Defence Commission (CDC).

According to the CDC, teams were deployed to commence assessments in Regions Two, Five, Seven and Ten on Wednesday; the Region Five team will also be going to Region Six. They commenced meetings with the respective Regional executives and other stakeholders in each region.

The team will be covering assessments and analysis across seven sectors, namely health, water and sanitation, infrastructure and housing, agriculture, social services, shelter and mining. Each respective team will include specialists for each of the sectors being assessed.

The assessments are expected to last at least five days in each region, upon which the team will then analyse the data gathered and submit a complete report.

In Region Two that team was scheduled  to visit the communities of Anna Regina, Devonshire, Castle, Bounty Hall, Queenstown, Perseverance, Suddie, and David James Scheme.

The Region Five team was scheduled to cover Fort Wellington, Woodley Park, Bath, Rosignol, Ithaca, and Blairmont for the first day.

In Region Seven the Upper Cuyuni-Mazaruni team was schedule to visit Imbamadai/Omenike and Kambaru, while the Lower Cuyuni-Mazaruni team was expected to visit Bartica, Agatash, and Dagg Point.

In Region 10 that team was scheduled to begin their assessment with visits to Block 42, Amelia’s Ward, Rainbow City, Silvertown, and Lower Kara Kara.

The assessment is supported by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) Eastern and Southern Caribbean through the Caribbean Climate Resilience Initiative, which is being implemented by the CDEMA Coordination Unit.

List of agencies comprising the DSSA:


United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF),

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO),

Pan American Health Organisation/World Health Organisation (PAHO),

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA),

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR),

United Nations Disaster Assessment and Coordination (UNDAC)

International Organisation for Migration (IOM)

Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA)

European Union

United States Agency for International Development (USAID)

REGIONAL (Caribbean)

Regional Security System

Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA)

Caribbean Agricultural Research & Development Institute (CARDI)

National Office of Disaster Services (Antigua)


Government Ministries

Office of the Prime Minister

Ministry of Health

Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Ministry of Finance,

Ministry of Amerindian Affairs,

Ministry of Human Services and Social Security

Ministry of Agriculture,

Ministry of Public Works

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development.

Government Agencies

Civil Defence Commission (CDC)

Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC)

Guyana Police Force (GPF)

Guyana Defence Force (GDF) – Coast Guard and Air Corps,

National Data Management Authority (NDMA)

Department of Public Information (DPI).

National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA),

Hydro Meteorological Office,

National Agricultural Research and Extension Institute (NAREI),

Guyana Livestock Development Authority (GLDA)

Mahaica Mahaicony Abary Agricultural Development Authority (MMA/ADA).

Regional Democratic Councils

Neighbourhood Democratic Councils

Other Agencies

Guyana Red Cross Society

University of Guyana

Private Sector Commission

Guyana Responsible Parenthood Association